Laboratoire POems

Wave Propagation : Mathematical Study and Simulation

Identity card

POEMS (french acronym whose translated meaning is Wave Propagation : Mathematical Study and Simulation) is a Mixed Research Unit (UMR 72 31), since january 2005, whose 3 supervisions are CNRS, ENSTA-Paristech and INRIA. This unit is at the same time an INRIA Project (part of INRIA Saclay Center), a tema of the Applied Mathematical Unit of ENSTA-ParisTech, inside FMJH (Jacques Hadamard Mathematical Foundation) and a CNRS Unit, dependent on INSIS department (Engineering Science and Systems Institute). The unit is located at ENSTA-ParisTech, in campus of Polytechnique, Palaiseau, France.

POEMS director is Anne-Sophie Bonnet-Ben Dhia.

In POEMS, there are about fifteen researchers or faculty members, 2 engineers and about fifteen students (PhD or post-docs).

Objectives

POEMS scientific activities are devoted to the development of mathematical and numerical studies about wave propagation, in all domains of Physics and Mechanics, namely electro-magnetic waves, acoustic waves, elastic waves or gravitational waves.

POEMS work concerns the modelling of complex problems, the mathematical analysis of these models (generally governed by Partial Differential Equations), the development of approximation methods and of computation softwares.

Research activities

Our main research themes are as follows :

Les domaines d'applications principaux sont les suivants :

At last, we develop through a partnership with IRMAR, the XLiFE++ library. This is a versatile finite element library, containing specific tools for solving problems on unbounded domains, such as Dirichlet-to-Neumann conditions or coupling with BEM.

We also develop COFFEE, a 3D solver for linear elastodynamics based on fast BEMs (full implementation in Fortran 90). The 3-D elastodynamic equations are solved with the boundary element method accelerated by the multi-level fast multipole method or H-matrix based solvers. The fundamental solutions for the infinite or half-space are used. A boundary element-boundary element coupling strategy is also implemented so multi-region problems (strata inside a valley for example) can be solved.

Laboratoire POems

Propagation des Ondes : Étude Mathématique et Simulation

Carte d'identité

POEMS (acronyme de Propagation des Ondes : Étude Mathématique et Simulation) est une Unité Mixte de Recherche (UMR 72 31), créée en janvier 2005, dont les trois tutelles sont le CNRS, l'ENSTA-ParisTech et l'INRIA. Cette unité est à la fois une Equipe Projet INRIA (qui fait partie du Centre de Recherche INRIA de Saclay), une équipe de l'Unité de Mathématiques Appliquées de l'ENSTA, faisant partie à ce titre de la FMJH (Fondation Mathématique Jacques Hadamard), et une unité du CNRS, rattachée à l'INSIS (Institut des sciences de l'ingénierie et des systèmes). Les locaux de l'unité sont situés à l'ENSTA, sur le campus de l'Ecole Polytechnique, à Palaiseau.

La directrice de POEMS est Anne-Sophie Bonnet-Ben Dhia.

Le personnel du laboratoire comprend une quinzaine de chercheurs ou enseignants-chercheurs permanents, deux ingénieurs CNRS et environ une quinzaine de non permanents (doctorants ou post-doctorants).

Objectifs

Les activités scientifiques de l'unité ont pour objet le développement d'études mathématiques et numériques concernant la propagation des ondes, dans tous les domaines de la mécanique et de la physique, qu'il s'agisse d'ondes électromagnétiques, acoustiques, élastiques ou d'ondes de gravité.

Les travaux réalisés ont trait à la modélisation de problèmes complexes, à l'analyse mathématique des modèles obtenus (généralement gouvernés par des Equations aux Dérivées Partielles), au développement de méthodes d'approximation et à la réalisation de codes de calcul.

Activités de recherche

Nos principaux thèmes de recherche sont les suivants :

Les domaines d'applications principaux sont les suivants :

Enfin, nous développons en partenariat avec l'IRMAR le code de calcul XLiFE++. Il s'agit d'un code généraliste destiné à résoudre des problèmes aux limites par éléments finis. Il contient des outils spécifiques à la résolution des problèmes posés en domaine non borné, comme le couplage avec des équations intégrales ou les conditions Dirichlet-to-Neumann.

Nous développons aussi le code COFFEE, un un solveur 3D pour l'élastodynamique linéaire basé sur les BEM rapides (implémentation en Fortran 90). Les équations 3D de l'élastodynamique sont résolues en utilisant une méthode BEM accelérée par une méthode multi-niveaux de multipôles rapides ou des solveurs de type H-matrices. Les solutions fondamentales dans des demi-espace sont utilisées. Une stratégie de couplage des éléments de frontière est aussi implémentée de façon à résoudre les problèmes avec plusieurs régions (les strates dans une vallée par exemple).